melissa + honduras

 
 
Ahh! I never expected it to get so chilly here in Honduras.  Luckily I packed a sweatshirt and I´ve been finding new ways to work up a sweat.   On our walk to Comedor last week, Chanel and I passed a man making adobe bricks in a little open plot amidst the normal row of homes and before I knew it, we had plans to come back the next day to learn how to make them with him.  This actually seems like a perfect example of how life usually goes here and even though I know it has partly to do with the fact that we´re noticeably not Honduran, I hope as the months pass I won't forget to marvel at such a culture of spontaneous welcome. 

Anyway, making adobe bricks is hard work!  First you mix pine needles, water and dirt [dirt being the technical term] in a huge pile using a hoe and your bare feet.  After the ingredients are sufficiently combined into the clay mixture, you clear some flat ground on which to put the bricks to dry in the sun and then cover the ground with sawdust so the bricks don't stick.  Then you heave the clay into a wooden mold - my guess is that the mold makes bricks about 12 inches long, 6 inches wide, 4 inches deep.  Big! And heavy!  And because the bricks are big, you have to make sure that there are no air bubbles in the finished product.  This involves a certain amount of punching and slapping around in the mud that is very satisfying. 

Once this is done, you pull the mold up and out, and you have a brick.  Repeat the heaving and punching about five million more times, or however many bricks you need to build a whole house, and then let them dry for a few days.  Many homes in the city are now made with concrete blocks, others with corrugated tin sheets, wood scraps and cardboard, but by far the majority here are made of adobe.  You could certainly say it's a slower and less sophisticated process than housing construction in the U.S. but I doubt the world economy would haven been so bulldozed if we built our U.S. homes this way and it's incredible, really, to have the power to build a place of your own. 

I always feel a little under the gun writing these posts because on the computer here at the internet cafe is a timer telling me the amount of time I´ve been online and the corresponding price that keeps tick, tick, ticking higher.  I feel like this timer would be a useful monitor for other activities, maybe like worrying or navel-gazing, but not in this instance when I am trying to correspond with you, my favorite people in the United States.  On another note, isn´t it strange that we call ourselves Americans, instead of Unitedstatespersons or something along those lines?  In Spanish, there´s a word: EstadounidenseSoy (I am) estadounidense (unitedstatesperson).  ¨American¨ doesn´t really fit the bill because technically all South Americans, Central Americans, and North Americans would fall into this category but ... we ¨Americans¨ build really big fences an to prevent that kind of fraternization.
Caroline
11/17/2010 11:05:07 pm

Yipee, a post! A post! Sorry, I was excited. Anyway, remember learning in third grade about adobe houses and Kachina dolls?

Also, you have a good point about the "American" designation. I'm taking a "19th-century American literature" course right now...and I feel the compulsive need to say "U.S." instead of "American" whenever possible. I'm probably driving my class nuts.

Love and miss you :)

Reply
Francis
11/18/2010 03:47:17 am

When you think back to the origin of our use of American it was not trying to slight the rest of the Americans. The area we inhabit never had a generic name like Canada or Mexico. When the colonies became states, they threw their lot in together. Part of Central America's tragedy is that they had that chance and their leaders threw it away so that today even Mississipi is better off than (pick your favorite CA country).
Thinking of you often. Send a letter to San Miguel for the boys.

Reply
11/19/2010 05:09:22 am

Love your description of getting your hands into the earth. You always did love to create things. Sorry that pesky timer got you off your blog. I didn't want to stop reading. I am captivated by your life in Talanga and love to hear every word. Thank you for sharing your stories. I am inspired to cultivate the "spirit of welcome" that you describe. Miss you girl.
xo
Mom
P.S. We will gather at our Thanksgiving table missing you something fierce, but loving you across the miles. We send you and your pals many prayers for your
efforts there in Talanga.

Reply
Maggie
11/27/2010 05:12:09 am

MomMom and I enjoyed reading about your new activities. For Thanksgiving MomMom opened her home to a United Nations of sorts we had a Columbian, Guatemalan, Brazilian, and a Minnesotan along with the rest of the Americans. We missed you terribly but reading your blog brings us closer to you. Our prayers go out to your to keep you safe and warm.

Love always,

Aunt Maggie & MomMom

Reply

good post

Reply
1/27/2012 04:48:58 pm

will come back soon

Reply
3/28/2012 01:50:19 am

Nice one info, thanks

Reply
3/30/2012 06:15:34 pm

will be restored soon

Reply



Leave a Reply.